News and Events

2018 SGI Fire Suppression/Extraction Rates


The Saskatchewan Consumer Price Index for Saskatchewan in 2017 was 1.7% therefore the 2018 rates are as follows:

  • Hourly Rate for Productive Call:  $913.00
  • Hourly Rate for Non-Productive Call:  $549.00
NewsMichael LapchukSGI
SEVO - Sask. Emergency Vehicle Operators Program

In November 2008 the Saskatchewan Government announced changes in legislation that would allow volunteer fire fighters to use warning lights and sirens on their personal vehicles. The changes came into effect on April 1st, 2009.

However there is important information to take into account before you put lights and sirens on your personal vehicles. Head over to the Safety page to learn more about the SEVO program and the requirements.

Michael Lapchuk
SVFFA Fire Fighter of the Year Award!

FIRE CHIEFS/OFFICERS/ADMINISTRATORS: DO YOU HAVE A FIRE FIGHTER IN YOUR RANKS WHO HAS GONE "ABOVE AND BEYOND"? DO YOU FEEL THEY DESERVE RECOGNITION AMONGST THEIR PROVINCIAL PEERS? The SVFFA FIRE FIGHTER OF THE YEAR AWARD will honor one outstanding individual from each of the 10 zones. The applicant must be a VOLUNTEER in good standing and have been a member for at least ONE FULL YEAR . The Department must also have been an SVFFA member for a full calendar year.

As a leader you will need to pick the ONE candidate from your team. This may be a daunting task as you may have several who would fit the bill. But, for obvious reasons, only one can be selected (keep in mind you may nominate one of your other "All Stars" the following year provided they continue their outstanding service).

You can write the application in any form you desire: formal letter, bullet point, essay style etc. (please though, no poems) Pick your candidate for 2017, and submit by March 30 2018 to Paul Cockell at or Box 62 Leroy, SK., S0K 2P0. Winners will be chosen and their Chief informed prior to the award ceremony at the Spring School in Nipawin April 20-22 2018

This award will be for the "rank and file" members, therefore Chiefs will not be eligible for this award.
NEW FOR 2018!!! We will include deputies and other officers.
If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact your zone reps , Paul Cockell or Courtney at the S.V.F.F.A. office:


For more information, here is the information pack!